Indian Philosophy: Other Nāstika Schools

CĀRVĀKA (LOKAYATA) The Cārvāka school is one of the nāstika or “heterodox” philosophies . It rejects ritualism and supernaturalism, emphasizes materialism (matter is the fundamental substance in nature, and that all things, including mental states and consciousness, are results of material interactions) and philosophical skepticism, holding empiricism, perception and conditional inference as the proper source …

Indian Philosophy: Other Nāstika Schools Read More »

Indian Philosophy

Indian Philosophy encompasses the philosophies, world views, and teachings of Hinduism and other religious sects that emerged in Ancient India. These include six systems – Sankhya, Yoga, Nyaya, Vaisheshika, Mimamsa and Vedanta. These are also called the Astika (theistic) philosophical traditions and are those that accept the Vedas as an authoritative, important source of knowledge.Ancient …

Indian Philosophy Read More »

Book Summary: Sapiens (Part 4)

This is Part 4 (The Scientific Revolution) in the four-part series of book summary of Sapiens by Yuval. If you haven’t read Part 1 (The Cognitive Revolution), Part 2 (The Agricultural Revolution), Part 3 (The Unification of Humankind), please read them before reading this. The Scientific Revolution 14) The Discovery of Ignorance The last 500 years have witnessed …

Book Summary: Sapiens (Part 4) Read More »